Methodology & sources

Every number in the fit checker comes from a manufacturer document we downloaded or read ourselves, recorded with a verification date. We record what the maker published, not what a retailer listing or forum post repeated. Where a document does not state a value, it is stored as not stated and the checker reports unknown with a next step — never a default value.

How limits are recorded

Result priorities

Any hard limit failure ⇒ not supported. Otherwise any missing key fact ⇒ needs verification. A proven adapter requirement ⇒ accessory required. Only when every recorded check passes ⇒ within published limits. "Within published limits" is not an installation approval.

Source documents

IDPublisherDocumentMarketVerified
S001Ergotron sales-sheet-pdf US2026-10-25
S002Ergotron sales-sheet-pdf US2026-10-25
S003Ergotron sales-sheet-pdf US2026-10-25
S004Mount-It product-page US2026-10-25
S005Samsung spec-sheet-pdf US2026-10-25
S006IKEA product-page US2026-10-25
S007Apple tech-specs-page US2026-10-25

What's in the current catalog

4 arm configurations, 2 verified monitor records, 1 maker-stated desk restriction. The catalog starts deliberately small: each entry is fully source-traced before it ships. Unknown models fall back to manual entry, which the engine treats with the same rules.

Limitations

We do not physically test arms, certify installations, or compute the structural strength of desktops. Totals like a desk's distributed load capacity are not a clamp permission — maker-stated restrictions (like honeycomb-core tops) override generic capacity math. Product data can change; each row carries its verification date, and we re-check on a fixed schedule or on user reports.